Desktop Schools Popup

Select a School

District 196 students win eight of 21 Student Production Awards

Students representing the journalism and video production programs at Apple Valley and Eastview high schools won eight Student Production Awards presented by the Upper Midwest Emmy® Foundation this spring.

Student Production Awards are awarded in college and high school divisions. This year, 21 awards were presented in the high school division; the eight winning entries from Apple Valley and Eastview are listed below by category.

  • Newscast – Eastview High for The Flash, Oct. 9, 2020 show; Madeline Sundheim and Saia D’Silva, talent; Godwin Agbara, director, and Sofia Hernandez, videographer.
  • News Report: Light News – Apple Valley High for “One of Ours: Maddie Mortison;” Reice Revier, talent/writer; Alex Selikoff, camera/editor, and Morgan Robinson, production.
  • Multimedia Journalist – Godwin Agbara of Eastview High for “Systemic Change.”
  • Fiction: Short Form – Eastview High for “Freeway Horror;” Brayden LeLoup, videographer.
  • Public Affairs/Community Service – Eastview High for “Representation;” Godwin Agbara, reporter.
  • Magazine Program – Apple Valley High for EaglEye, Show #192; Gabe Peña and Sara Abourjeily, anchors/producers.
  • Sports Story or Segment – Eastview High for “Swimming Sensation;” Madeline Sundheim, reporter, and videographers Cole Frost, Georgia Paul and Jordan Sundheim.
  • Writer – Madeline Sundheim of Eastview High.

Cliff Dodge and Drew McCluskey are the staff advisors at Apple Valley High and Nick Fornicoia is the advisor at Eastview High.